top of page

Gréoux les Bains, France, the Verdon: 1 park, 7 landscapes

Top_verdon

Straddling the departments of Alpes de Haute-Provence and Var, it extends over 45 municipalities. This Natural Park is renowned for its Gorges, the deepest in Europe (up to 700m deep). It thus receives more than a million visitors per year!

carte_parc_verdon v2.JPG
Haut Var
Basses Gorges

- The Valensole plateau

Known worldwide for its cultivation of lavandin (hybridization between fine lavender and aspic lavender), it brings together around twenty municipalities (including Gréoux les Bains). Valensole is its "capital". Its economy is essentially oriented towards agriculture and tourism.

In addition to lavandin, there are also almond trees, truffle oaks, olive trees and apple trees (in the South). The cultivation of wheat has also greatly developed in recent decades.

Several hiking routes are accessible, on foot, by bike, by quad, or even on horseback.

More information on Wikipedia and the Valensole website (in french).

- The Basses Gorges


Less impressive than those of the grand canyon but no less interesting, these Gorges have been inhabited since prehistoric times. There are many testimonies from this period, such as caves in particular, in the town of Quinson (where the largest museum in Europe devoted to prehistory is located) .

 

Bas Verdon has many lakes: Esparron, Saint Laurent, Montpezat, Quinson,… The 2 main towns in this area are Esparron-de-Verdon and Quinson, from which various hiking trails and water sports are offered.

You can also enjoy a commented walk on the lake aboard "La Perle du Verdon".

Bordered by maquis of holm oaks and kermes oaks, its waters connect the lake of Esparron de Verdon to that of Sainte Croix for about 9 kms.

For amateurs, its waters are home to almost all the species of fish inhabiting the fresh waters of the South of France (brown trout, pike, pike perch, perch and other bleaks and roaches). This makes it a recognized fishing "spot" (subject to respecting the rules ...).

More peaceful than those of the Gorges, they also allow the practice of "calm" nautical activities such as paddle, canoe, pedal boat or electric boat.

These can be done from the beach of St Julien (west of Lake Esparron, easily accessible from Gréoux les Bains), or more to the east at the village of Esparron.

Finally, from Quinson, a hiking trail accessible to all also allows you to follow the Basses Gorges (allow about 5 hours).

- The hills of Haut Var

Relatively still away from tourism, these hills alternate with landscapes of forests and cultivated clearings (olive trees, vines, truffle oaks ...) . There are also some windmills (in Régusse) and water (in Vinon sur Verdon) previously used for making flour.

In Sillans, a hike allows you to access another curiosity: a set of waterfalls.

- The lake of Ste Croix and its surroundings

11 km long and 5 km wide, this lake is the 3td in France by area. It was built from a dam built in 1974.

It has become a summer tourism center due to the many water activities on offer (including sailing). Most of their installations are located in villages with direct access to the lake (Bauduen, Les Salles sur Verdon and Sainte-Croix-du-Verdon).

It is also used for scooping Canadairs during fires in the region.

 

You can also tour the lake by car (even if the route is sometimes away).

This can be the opportunity to discover other nearby villages:

Aiguines : clinging to the hillside, this village offers you a breathtaking view of the lake, the Valensole plateau and the first foothills of the Alps. Starting point for hikes to Les Salles sur Verdon or the summit of Grand Margès, Aiguines also offers you to indulge in climbing or paragliding.

Aups : further south, this village - classified among the Cities of Character of the Var - will delight lovers of old stones and the Provençal hinterland.

Bauduen : in addition to its typically Provençal appearance (fountains, washhouse and other picturesque passages), this village offers a beach very (too ?!) popular for swimming and water activities.

Les Salles sur Verdon : another privileged point of view from which to admire the lake and the first foothills of the Alps, this village offers particularly well-appointed banks below with small beaches shaded by holm oaks, nautical activities, and even a slipway municipal council to launch your own boat.

Moustiers Ste Marie : classified among the "most beautiful villages of France", its production of high quality earthenware, recognized throughout the world, adds to its prestige. Disappeared for 2 centuries, this tradition was reborn in 1927 when an enthusiast decided to relaunch this craft. Be careful, however, to the multitude of inexpensive products but not "Made in Moustiers" ...

Another feature that makes Moustiers famous is its star, stretched between 2 mountains above the village (symbol, according to legend, of a wish made by a knight during the Crusades).

Particularly touristy, be vigilant when you go to visit this village (especially in summer, avoid market days ...).

A special and personal mention for the restaurant La Bonne Auberge (part of the "Maitres Restaurateurs") for its local and particularly tasty cuisine (all for a reasonable price).

Ste Croix du Verdon : another place offering a magnificent view of the lake, the Haut Var hills and the first foothills of the Alps. The banks also benefit from large, well-equipped beaches and nautical activities (including a sailing school)

Montpezat : Made up of two small villages a few kilometers apart, the town of Montagnac-Montpezat is located west of Lake Sainte-Croix , and at the southern end of the Valensole plateau . Less touristy than the outskirts of Valensole, but also well supplied with lavandin fields, you can enjoy them in peace.

More information on the lake of Ste Croix on Wikipedia and here.

- Gorges du Verdon

To the east of Lake Sainte-Croix, is the Pont de Galetas which marks the start of the Gorges du Verdon canyon which stretches over 21 km.

By car, 2 roads allow you to discover them. In both cases, count half a day ("photo" breaks included!). By either of these routes, you can admire its Gorges, 250m wide and up to 700m deep, from multiple lookouts.

The most impressive route is that of the left bank, in the south therefore, aptly nicknamed "the Corniche Sublime". To the west, it leaves from Aiguines by the D71 to the Balcons de la Mescla (approximately 25 km).

By the right bank, you take the "Route du Nord" from Moustiers Ste Marie following the D952, until La Palud-sur-Verdon (approximately 20 kms).
You can continue by following the loop made by the D23 (also called "Route des Crêtes", approximately 20 additional kms). Note that this road is one-way, so you can also take it by electric bike in complete safety ...

By continuing your journey on the D952 to the village of Rougon, you will benefit from an exceptional panorama.

Hikers can take advantage of several routes, the best known of which are the Sentier Blanc-Martel, Cadières de Brandis, Sentier des Siréniens, among others.

Lovers of (more) strong sensations can also indulge in:
- climbing, with more than 900 accessible routes
- paragliding, flying among vultures and other golden eagles
- white water sports (canyoning, rafting, canoeing)

- Lakes & Mountains Verdon

The north-east of the park gives a glimpse of the Pre-Alps, with its Montdenier (1750 m), Chiran (1905 m) and Mourre de Chanier (1930 m) massifs. You can also discover 2 reservoirs, those of Castillon and Chaudanne.

- The Artuby

Located at the eastern end of the Gorges du Verdon into which it flows, this river stretches for 53 km from the Alpes Maritimes (and crossing an 18 km canyon) to the Pont de l'Artuby where the Bungee jumping.

Artuby also designates a territory made up of valleys partitioned by often high rocky reliefs. It gives pride of place to the forest, which feeds most of the activities, as well as to sheep farming. From the summer pastures to the bottom of the valleys, transhumance thus punctuates the seasons.

More general information on the Verdon Regional Natural Park:

- Verdon Park

- Verdon Tourism

- https://www.tourisme-alpes-haute-provence.com/plein-les-yeux/

- http://www.provence-tourisme.fr/tourisme-en-provence-1/verdon/
- https://www.lacs-gorges-verdon.fr/

Valensole
Ste Croix
Gorges
Lacs-Montagnes
Artuby
bottom of page

Gréoux les Bains, France, le Verdon : 1 parc, 7 paysages

 

A cheval sur les départements des Alpes de Haute-Provence et du Var, il s'étend sur 45 communes. Ce Parc Naturel est réputé pour ses Gorges, les plus profondes d’Europe (jusqu’à 700m de profondeur). Il reçoit ainsi plus d'un million de visiteurs par an !

carte_parc_verdon v2.JPG
 
 

 

- Le plateau de Valensole

Mondialement connu pour sa culture du lavandin (hybridation entre la lavande fine et la lavande aspic), il regroupe une vingtaine de communes (dont Gréoux les Bains). Valensole en est la "capitale". Son économie est essentiellement tournée vers l'agriculture et le tourisme.

Outre le lavandin, on y trouve aussi des amandiers, des chênes truffiers, des oliviers et des pommiers (au Sud). La culture du blé s'est par ailleurs largement développée ces dernières décennies.

Plusieurs itinéraires de randonnée sont accessibles, à pied, à vélo, en quad, ou encore à cheval.

Plus d'informations sur Wikipedia et le site de Valensole.

- Les Basses Gorges


Moins impressionnantes que celles du grand canyon mais non moins intéressantes, ces Gorges ont été habitées dès la préhistoire. Il reste de nombreux témoignages de cette époque comme des grottes notamment, sur la commune de Quinson (où se trouve le plus grand musée d’Europe consacré à la préhistoire).

 

Le Bas Verdon compte de nombreux  lacs :  Esparron, Saint Laurent, Montpezat, Quinson,… Les 2 villes principales de cette zone sont Esparron-de-Verdon  et Quinson, au départ desquelles sont proposés divers parcours de randonnée et activités nautiques.

Vous pouvez aussi profiter d'une promenade commentée sur le lac à bord de "La Perle du Verdon".

Bordées par des maquis de chênes verts et chênes kermès, ses eaux relient le lac d’Esparron de Verdon à celui de Sainte Croix sur 9 kms environ.

Pour les amateurs, Ses eaux abritent la quasi-totalité des espèces de poissons peuplant les eaux douces du Sud de la France (truites fario, brochets, sandre, perches et autres ablettes et gardons). Cela en fait un "spot" de pêche reconnu (sous réserve d'en respecter les règles...).

Plus paisibles que celles des Gorges, elles permettent aussi la pratique d'activités nautiques "calmes" comme le paddle, le canoë, le pédalo ou le bateau électrique.

Celles-ci peuvent se faire à partir de la plage de St Julien (à l'Ouest du lac d'Esparron, aisément accessible depuis Gréoux les Bains), ou plus à l'Est au niveau du village d'Esparron.

Enfin, au départ de Quinson, un sentier de randonnée accessible à tous permet aussi de longer les Basses Gorges (comptez environ 5h).

​​- Les collines du Haut Var

Relativement encore à l'écart du tourisme, ces collines alternent avec des paysages de forêts et de clairières cultivées (oliviers, vignes, chênes truffiers...). Il subsiste par ailleurs quelques moulins à vent (à Régusse) et à eau (à Vinon sur Verdon) précédemment destinés à la confection de farine.

A Sillans, une randonnée vous permet d'accéder à une autre curiosité : un ensemble de cascades.

​​- Le lac de Ste Croix et ses alentours

Longue de 11 kms et large de 5 kms, cette retenue d'eau est la 4ème de France par sa superficie. Elle fut aménagée à partir d'un barrage édifié en 1974.

Elle est devenue un centre de tourisme estival du fait des multiples activités aquatiques proposées (y compris la voile). L'essentiel de leurs installations se trouvent dans les villages disposant d'un accès direct au lac (Bauduen, Les Salles sur Verdon et Sainte-Croix-du-Verdon).

Elle sert par ailleurs pour les écopages des Canadairs lors des incendies dans la région.

Vous pouvez aussi faire le tour du lac en voiture (même si l'itinéraire s'en éloigne quelquefois).

Ce peut être l'occasion de découvrir d'autres villages tout proches : 

Aiguines : accroché à flanc de colline, ce village vous offre une vue imprenable sur le lac, le plateau de Valensole et les premiers contreforts des Alpes. Point de départ de randonnées vers Les Salles sur Verdon ou le sommet du Grand Margès, Aiguines vous propose aussi de vous adonner à l'escalade ou bien au parapente.

Aups : plus au Sud, ce village - classée parmi les Cités de Caractère du Var - ravira les amateurs de vielles pierres et de l'arrière pays provençal.

Bauduen : outre son aspect typiquement provençal (fontaines, lavoir et autres passages pittoresques), ce village vous propose une plage très (trop ?!) appréciée pour la baignade et les activités nautiques.

Les Salles sur Verdon : autre point de vue privilégié pour admirer le lac et les premiers contreforts des Alpes, ce village vous propose en contrebas des berges particulièrement bien aménagées avec des petites plages ombragées par les chênes verts, des activités nautiques, et même une cale municipale pour mettre à l'eau votre propre embarcation.

Moustiers Ste Marie : classé parmi les "plus beaux villages de France", sa production d'une faïence de grande qualité, reconnue dans le monde entier, ajoute à son prestige. Disparue durant 2 siècles, cette tradition renaît en 1927 lorsqu'un passionné décide de relancer cet artisanat. Attention néanmoins à la multitude de produits peu chers mais non "Made in Moustiers"...

Autre particularité qui fait la renommée de Moustiers, c'est son étoile, tendue entre 2 montagnes au-dessus du village (symbole, selon la légende, d'un vœu que fit un chevalier au temps des Croisades).

Particulièrement touristique, soyez vigilant au moment où vous allez visiter ce village (particulièrement en été, évitez les jours de marché...).

Une mention spéciale et personnelle pour le restaurant La Bonne Auberge (faisant partie des "Maitres Restaurateurs") pour sa cuisine locale et particulièrement goûteuse (le tout pour un prix raisonnable).

Ste Croix du Verdon : encore un endroit offrant une vue magnifique sur le lac, les collines du Haut Var et les premiers contreforts des Alpes. Les berges bénéficient également de grandes plages bien équipées et d'activités nautiques (dont une école de voile)

Montpezat : Formée de deux petits villages distants de quelques kilomètres, la commune de Montagnac-Montpezat est située à l'ouest du lac de Sainte-Croix, et à l'extrémité sud du plateau de Valensole. Moins touristique que les abords de Valensole, mais aussi bien fourni en champs de lavandin, vous pourrez apprécier ces derniers en toute tranquillité.

Plus d'informations sur https://www.lac-sainte-croix.com/

​​- Les Gorges du Verdon

A l’est du lac de Sainte-Croix, se trouve le Pont de Galetas qui marque le début du canyon des Gorges du Verdon qui s'étend sur 21 kms.​

En voiture, 2 routes permettent de les découvrir. Dans les 2 cas, comptez 1/2 journée (pauses "photo" comprises !). Par l'un ou l'autre de ces itinéraires, vous pourrez admirer ses Gorges, larges de 250m et pouvant atteindre 700m de profondeur, depuis de multiples belvédères.

Le parcours le plus impressionnant est celui de la rive gauche, au sud donc, fort justement surnommée " la Corniche Sublime". A l'Ouest, elle part d'Aiguines par la D71 jusqu'aux Balcons de la Mescla (25 kms environ).

Par la rive droite, vous empruntez la "Route du Nord" à partir de Moustiers Ste Marie en suivant la D952, jusqu'à La Palud-sur-Verdon (20 kms environ).
Vous pouvez poursuivre en suivant la boucle que fait la D23 (aussi appelée "Route des Crêtes", 20 kms supplémentaires environ). A noter que cette route est à sens unique, vous pouvez donc aussi l'emprunter en vélo électrique en toute sécurité...

En poursuivant votre trajet sur la D952 jusqu'au village de Rougon, vous bénéficierez d'un panorama exceptionnel.

Les amateurs de randonnée bénéficient de plusieurs parcours dont les plus connus sont ceux du Sentier Blanc-Martel, Cadières de Brandis, Sentier des Siréniens, entre autres.

​Les amateurs de sensations (plus) fortes, peuvent aussi s'adonner :
- à l'escalade, avec plus de 900 voies accessibles
- au parapente, en volant au milieu des vautours et autres aigles royaux
- aux sports en eau vive (canyoning, rafting, canoë-kayak)

​​- Les lacs & montagnes du Verdon

Le Nord-Est du parc laisse entrevoir les Pré-Alpes, avec ses massifs du Montdenier (1750 m), du Chiran (1905 m), et du Mourre de Chanier (1930 m). On peut aussi y découvrir 2 lacs de retenue, ceux de Castillon et de Chaudanne.

​​- L'Artuby

Située à l'extrémité Est des Gorges du Verdon dans lequel elle se jette, cette rivière s'étend sur 53 kms depuis les Alpes Maritimes (et en traversant un canyon de 18 kms) jusqu'au Pont de l'Artuby où se pratique le saut à l'élastique.

L'Artuby désigne aussi un territoire constitué de vallées cloisonnées par des reliefs rocheux souvent élevés. Il fait une place prépondérante à la forêt, qui nourrit l’essentiel des activités, ainsi qu'à l'élevage ovin. De l’estive au fond des vallées, la transhumance rythme ainsi les saisons.

Plus d'informations générales sur le Parc Naturel Régional du Verdon :

- Parc du Verdon

- Verdon Tourisme

https://www.tourisme-alpes-haute-provence.com/plein-les-yeux/

http://www.provence-tourisme.fr/tourisme-en-provence-1/verdon/
https://www.lacs-gorges-verdon.fr/

Offices de tourisme
La Palud-sur-Verdon : www.lapalud-verdontourisme.com
Castellane : www.castellane-verdontourisme.com
Moustiers-Sainte-Marie : www.moustiers.fr
Sainte-Croix-du-Verdon : stecroixduverdon-tourisme.fr